Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Peroxide, it’s not just for hair anymore!

on April 10, 2010

There is something everyone should have around their house that is a multi-purpose agent that’s way better than bleach. Yes, it’s true, as far as cleaning goes, at least. when my children bring home the infamous ‘puke and duke’ bug (and they do every year) and it spreads through my home like a the grass fires in southern california, I always want to break out the bleach bottle to clean all of my commonly touched surfaces. I recently learned of something that will do the same thing, minus the smell. Are you ready? Hydrogen peroxide. Yep. It will disinfect and clean most surfaces, but will not make your house smell like a swimming pool. I know lots of people have respiratory sensitivities and can’t have strong-smelling things in their home like bleach, and this is the perfect solution.

If you want to do better disinfection, all you need to do is leave it on for a few minutes then wipe it off. It’s great. You can even use it for cleaning stains out of things like clothing and carpet. I haven’t tried it yet for those things. but I will. I have a few stains on my carpet, so I’ll try it out and let you know how it works. My carpet is a light cream color (obviously the people who picked it out didn’t have small children!) and shows every single spot.

Peroxide is one of those multi-use products that you should keep around your house. Not only can you use it to clean a wound, you can gargle it for a sore throat. It’s even on the label, you mix it half and half with water, gargle and spit. And don’t worry if you accidentally swallow some, when the peroxide bubbles, it breaks down into hydrogen and water. I think that’s why it doesn’t smell, it’s only hydrogen and water.

So, you can use it to clean wounds, treat a sore throat, clean your house, treat stains, oh, and bleach hair, although I don’t recommend that one! I’ll try it on my carpet and let you know how it turns out!

One response to “Peroxide, it’s not just for hair anymore!

  1. Lisa says:

    Nice!!! I’m going to have to go out and buy some. It sounds WAY better than bleach!!

Leave a Reply

