Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s Christmas in March!!!

on March 10, 2010

Ok, so, I know I have a problem with cookbooks. I can’t explain it, and I never in a million years would have thought I’d have a thing for cookbooks, but I do. Funny. Ten years ago, if you had told me I’d give everything up to be a domestic goddess, I’d have told you that you really needed to seek professional help! No way was I going to put my long and arduous education on the shelf to stay at home with my children and become the friendly neighborhood Betty Crocker. I was going to heal the world, not be another stay at home mom. My children would be fine in daycare, I was sure of it. Millions of kids are, why would my children be any different? Well, that just goes to show what happens when you speak of what you know not of.

Now look at me, six years as a domestic goddess and enjoying almost every minute. I say almost because, well, there are parts that I don’t care for, but I’d have to do them no matter if I were working or not, you know, the manual labor involved in keeping house. ugh.

Anyway, I got an email for $5 cookbooks from Taste of Home. Being one who has a hard time resisting a good deal, I ordered three. I didn’t expect them to be as nice as they are. They are hard-cover, approx 300 pages with about 4 to 5 recipes and pictures on every page. It’s like Christmas for me! I bought an ultimate chicken, a healthy cooking and a Pilsbury annual recipe book. I just flipped through one quickly, and OMG! I will be solo for a couple of days next week and now I know what I’ll be doing! Yippee!

Go ahead, you can say it, I’m nuts, I know it. I get excited over odd things, a new sweater from Eddie Bauer, a good sale at Children’s Place, new cooking magazines and cookbooks. I guess I’ll just have to deal with it. But hey, the next time you’re over for dinner, there’s a good likelihood you’ll get to sample a new recipe! And don’t be surprised if I use my standard disclaimer: It’s a new recipe, if it sucks, it’s not my fault!

Bon appetite!

2 responses to “It’s Christmas in March!!!

  1. Lisa says:

    You and Jim are peas in a pod … he has so many cookbooks I don’t know where to PUT them all! 🙂 haha

    • drmomx2 says:

      ha ha! And he blames you for everything! oh well, I’ll never run out of ideas for dinner. It’s never boring at my house around meal time!

Leave a Reply

