Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m Addicted

on March 8, 2010

Hello, my name is Cheryl and I’m an addict. I can’t seem to stop buying cookbooks! I never would’ve thought it would be me with a collection of cookbooks, but this is apparently my new obsession. Every time I see a cheap cookbook, I just can’t seem to walk past. I bought one at Big Lots a couple of weeks ago for $5. I haven’t tried anything in it yet, but I will tonight. I got a special offer in the mail, a Pillsbury annual cookbook for $10. I sent off for it. Ig ot an email for $5 cookbooks from Taste of Home, I bought three.

I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I do enjoy just thumbing through when I have some downtime. Looking at new things to try and some really interesting nouveau cuisine things that I know I’d never make, but I like to look at. I don’t know what to do, I’m really kind of running out of space, I don’t have a bookshelf in my kitchen to put them on. I’m going to have to figure out something else. I don’t necessarily want to decorate my kitchen with cookbooks,b ut it’s beginning to turn in to that!

So….if you have any tips, or suggestions for getting over my addiction, please do tell! I need help!

4 responses to “I’m Addicted

  1. valcitygal says:

    LOL I feel like I just read all about ME! I, too, have an embarrassingly large collection. I can read a cookbook like I do a novel, page to page, making notes in the margins, it’s just ridiculous. I currently have one full bookshelf full of cookbooks. Hard cover books, soft cover books, not to mention all the special edition holiday magazines with food and entertaining ideas… It was becoming out of hand but I finally just went through them all when we moved a year and a half ago. I tore out all the pages in the mags that I wanted to keep and put them all in a binder.

    I could never do that to a cookbook. I have food drips and stains all over the pages (a worn out book is well-loved!), but would never, NEVER, tear out a page. Blasphemy. I’ve been trying to cook my way through one full cookbook and prepare each recipe and I’ve found that this has kept me from buying new ones. It’s like I know that if I buy a new one, I’d get derailed and distracted. You could try that? Or, pack away half of them (basement, closet, whatever), then every couple of months, rotate them (i.e. put 2-3 away that you haven’t been using, then bring in 2-3 stored ones). Eventually, you’ll have only your most-used faves out and can maybe give away or sell the others. 🙂

  2. drmomx2 says:

    That is so funny. I’ve read about your attempt to complete the cookbook and I totally understand your reasoning for not buying a new one, the same would happen to me! I like your idea of rotating them, it’s not a bad idea. My fear, though, is that I’ll forget about them and buy new ones. I’ve got a few in a cabinet that used to use alot, but since they’ve been in this cabinet, I really haven’t used them much. I also have the problem with the magazines, I don’t throw them away. Last year, when I had about 6 or 7 years worth of mags piled up, I started going through them and doing what you did, cut them out and put them in a binder. I think I need to do that again, I’ve got an accordion folder that’s thinned out, but still fairly full.

    Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll give it a shot and see how it works!

  3. fowlerfam4 says:

    I am attempting to reach food nerd status as I like to call it, but I have not gotten to the cookbook obsession. Perhaps it is because we have moved a lot and I hate packing up boxes and unpacking them and so I get rid of stuff instead! But my one obsession is like a little delicious cookbook that comes once a month and I read it from cover to cover and that is…drum roll…Food and Wine Magazine. Sigh. I have years, YEARS, of copies and I can NOT get rid of them! They are delightfully organized by meal segments, appetizers, veggies, sides, meats, desserts etc. and then they tell you which wines work great too! all on one little index page. its wonderful. Try the magazine, at least it takes up less space, its cheaper and you get a new one without giving in to shopping compulsion!

    • drmomx2 says:

      You know, now that you mention it, I guess I am a food nerd. Although I am hardly a food snob, if the ingredient list reads like the closing credits of a movie, I”m out. And I’ve got two young children who can be rather picky at times and would reject many things I think I might like. They have become fairly good sports about my penchant for new recipes. I hate getting in that rut, you know, that Monday is pork chop night, Tuesday is spaghetti, etc.
      Like you I read cooking mags cover to cover. I currently receive Taste of Home and Simple and Delicious. I save them too, they do take up less room, until you’ve got 7 years worth piled up! Then I go through, cut out the ones I would like to try, put them in a binder, and pass whats’ left of the mags on to my neighbors. I think I”ve got at least another year on them both, but I will check out Food and Wine, that is right up my alley! I love food and hello! LOVE me some vino! I’ll wait until after Lent, I gave up wine for Lent and it’s pretty tough, I guess that’s the whole idea. But….it’s not forever. Thanks for the tip, I hadn’t thought of that mag. Next time I’m at Borders or B&N I’ll check it out!

Leave a Reply

