Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Would you do this?

on February 5, 2010

Today, I was getting my children ready for school and about thirty minutes before the bus was to come, we noticed one of the neighborhood girls outside, at the bus stop already waiting for the bus. (The  bus stop is across the street from my house) It was light outside and we do live in a good neighborhood and area of town, but still, this little girl is in second grade, she can’t be more than 8 years old and she’s outside, all alone, waiting on the bus.

I feel that as parents we all must do what we feel is right for ourselves and our children, but this seems almost irresponsible to me. Bad things happen in good neighborhoods, all the time. Ask any parent of a missing or murdered child, they never expected anything to happen in their neighborhood I’ll bet.

When we went outside, I made a comment to her that she was out pretty early today. She told me that her dad had to go to work early and just dropped her off. There are other people in the neighborhood that may have been willing to look after her until the bus came. I know of one family for sure that lives directly across the street from this girl who has children on our bus. Maybe he asked, I don’t know.

What I do know is that i will never allow my children to wait that long, alone for the bus at the  young ages they are right now. If they were older, middle school, or junior high, maybe. Still, kids that old are snatched all the time. It’s just too scary to think of what could happen when we’re not looking. Am I an over-protective helicopter parent? maybe. But it’s my job to make sure my children are as safe as they can be while it’s my job to take care of them. I just don’t understand why people do the things they do sometimes. Especially when it involves their children.

4 responses to “Would you do this?

  1. auntysocial says:

    Personally, I would not leave a child of that age standing there alone like that and for so long – but that’s my opinion.

    Perhaps her parents figured she’d be safer waiting at the stop because she’d be within eye and earshot of people such as yourself? You spotted her, others may well have also spotted her and shared the same concerns too and if that were the case, you’d more than likely have seen anything untoward and intervened.

    Some parents might have left her at home by herself or dropped her off at school long before anyone was around. I know some parents who do this every day and to me, that carries a much greater risk.

    🙂

  2. drmomx2 says:

    Yes, she was in eye and earshot, but I didn’t have the ability to keep an eye on her the entire time she was out there. I would never leave my children like that on the assumption that someone else would watch them. I agree, leaving them at home or at school poses other risks. I guess what I”m trying to get at is I really don’t understand why people do what they do sometimes. This is the same girl who on the first day of school got off the bus and didn’t know where to go. They’d only just moved into the neighborhood over the month prior to school and she wasn’t familiar enough with the neighborhood and just stood there looking lost and forlorn. I called her father, who was at home and told him to come and get her because she was lost. It really makes me wonder about her parents. Oh, and then there was the time when the 12 year old daughter was supposed to be watching her two younger siblings, while the parents were home, this particular girl and a boy of 3, when we saw the two girls wandering up the street calling the boy’s name. The girl who was supposed to be watching them apparently had been derelict in her duties and they couldn’t find the little one! Thankfully, he was later located at home in the bathroom. My question was why were these girls out looking for this child rather than the mother or better yet, the police? I don’t have any clue what goes on in that household, as it should be, it’s just disconcerting.

  3. auntysocial says:

    I agree entirely. I regularly find myself having a nervous twitch because of the way some parents seem happy to let them fend for themselves. It drives me nutty that they put them in that position in the first place (often relying on the good nature of decent people) and I cannot quite get to grips with their way of thinking at all.

    I’m including a link to a local news story which is perhaps one of the most appalling and baffling things I’ve ever read about. A woman left her four children at home by themselves for over 24 hours so she could go out on a drink and drugs binge. The eldest child was four years old, the youngest just three months. 😦

    http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/news/4741867.Blackburn_mum__22__left_four_children_home_alone_for_24_hour_binge/

    • drmomx2 says:

      I just read this article you sent. You know, it never ceases to amaze me the absolutely stupid and vile things people do involving children. She should’ve been thrown in jail, not given a slap on the wrist. She’d already lost custody of the oldest, I hope they take the others and put them with a loving, caring, responsible family member. It’s just tragic and like the judge said, it’s just a lucky accident that none of them were seriously injured. Frightening to think that people do that on a regular basis, they just don’t all get caught.

Leave a Reply

