Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Is Beauty Really From Within?

on February 5, 2010

Ok, I just have to say something here. I do not watch “The Hills’ or any other reality show for that matter. They’re all scripted and edited and just a bunch of crap IMHO, honestly. So, it’s not a big surprise I really don’t know who Heidi whatsherface is. But she’s had her face plastered all over the place of late, so we’ve been introduced.

This young woman says that “Beauty comes from within” and yet has multiple cosmetic surgeries in a single day at the tender age of 23, when she has no concept of what gravity can and will do to her. If she really, truly believed that, she would have been happy with herself and not bowed to the ‘pressures’ of Hollywood. I really don’t like the signals that she’s sending out to young girls right now who watch that ‘show’ she’s on.  There are way too many images bombarding our girls, telling them they have to look a certain way in order to be liked or loved or get the job or the guy or whatever.

There are  a few words that come to mind in her case, the first is vapid. Truly, she has a vacuum between her ears, I”m convinced that’s what’s holding her extensions  hair on her head. Narcissistic is another good one. She believes if she has all these cosmetic procedures done, she’ll be a ‘star’. I’m sorry, but in my mind, being a star has something to do with, ahem, talent or skill.  An innate ability to do something, paint, sing, play piano, compose music, author books, play a sport at high levels, these are things that make people stars, their abilities and skills elevate them above the rest of the crowd. Not how they look. Oh, how about delusional? I like that one too. She is deluded in the thought that she will be able to get by solely on her looks for very long. I’ve heard a snipped of one of her songs, she can’t sing her way out of a paper bag, I don’t know how she thinks she’s going to be a pop star. For that matter, neither can Brittney, I don’t know how she’s managed to cling to her star for so long.

I looked at her before and after pictures. She was a lovely young lady before, but obviously incredibly insecure. I’ve read about the pressures of Hollywood and unrealistic expectations people place upon themselves and others when involved in the entertainment industry. However, simply making yourself over in the fashion that she has done, will not make her any more of a star than she is now. Unless, it’s in the ‘adult’ entertainment industry, which she looks like she will fit in perfectly after all of her ‘work’. She looks like an aging actress who’s trying to recapture her youth and glory days. She looks easily twenty years older than she is after having all of these things done to herself. If I were her mother, I’d be shocked and unhappy.

I have entertained thoughts of plastic surgery, breast enhancements to be specific. I am what you might call, ahem, a carpenter’s dream. if I had done it before my daughter was old enough to understand what’s going on it would be one thing. However, she is at a very impressionable age right now and I am doing all I can to help her love herself as she is and not be influenced by all of these images she sees. I know, it’s difficult. I was influenced by all of the airbrushed images staring back at me from the magazine covers. But I never dreamed of having surgery to look like any of them. I hope with all my heart, I can instill these ideas in my daughter.

Beauty truly does come from within, even though what she says and what she does don’t mesh. I’ve known people who were drop-dead, car-crash-causing gorgeous, but when they open their mouths to speak, they ruined the whole thing. And then there are the others, who are so ugly, what they say around here, they look like they fell through the ugly tree and hit every branch on the way down. And yet, they may have the best sense of humor or kindest spirit and suddenly, their looks dont’ matter so much. I guess that’s something this young woman will have to learn someday, and hopefully it’s not the hard way.

Leave a Reply

