Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Failure Sucks!

on February 3, 2010

Well, I failed today. Miserably, and I”m not happy about it one bit. What did I fail at? Lemon poppy seed bread. I love lemon poppy seed muffins. I especially love them when they are low cal and low-fat. Because then I can eat them and not feel guilty. Not that I eat more of them mind you, I just don’t worry about what they’re doing to the size of my arse as I’m enjoying the warm, fluffy, lemony goodness.

I found a recipe for a light version of a lemon poppy seed bread. YAY! I love making yummy breads like that. Cream cheese swirl pumpkin bread, banana nut bread, chocolate zucchini bread. Love them. And when they’re healthy, I love them even more!

I bought the most beautiful and perfect lemon I could find to make my creation that much better. I gathered my ingredients, with just a couple of substitutions. It called for oat bran, but I couldn’t find any at the store, so I used oatmeal and just ran it through my coffee grinder. I thought, ‘Hey, it should work.’ I also substituted unsweetened applesauce for the butter/oil it called for. I’ve done this many times. Sub equal part of applesauce for the oil. I still get the moistness I would from the oil with a lot fewer calories and no fat. Sounds like a plan to me!

Alas, something went terribly awry today. I had left-over lemon juice, so rather than using 2 tbsp, I used three. And when the batter was made, it looked to be a bit on the watery side, so I added just a bit more flower and oatmeal. Only about a half cup in total. I was confident my changes would not affect my precious poppy seed bread. Oh, it smelled wonderfully. My children came home from school smelling it and wanting some.

The timer went off, I took the bread out of the oven and, hm. That’s kind of odd. It was very dense. Uh oh, that’s not good. It was very gummy and dense and I can’t figure out why, what part of my chemistry experiment would have changed it so much that it was horrible! Honestly, it could have been my baking powder. I’ve had it for a while, and I know that it will not work as well when it gets old. I dunno. I will give it a go again at a later time.  I’ll make some substitutions, but I’ll try to make fewer next time around. In the mean time, my daughter is quite happy with it, so I guess it’s not a complete waste!

One response to “Failure Sucks!

  1. drmomx2 says:

    Ugh. I tried it again and worked harder to stick to the original recipe and, well, it was gummy and disgusting again. Although not quite as bad as the first attempt. My daughter liked it, so it wasn’t a complete waste, but, it was a complete disappointment. Last night I made some poppy seed mini muffins and my husband asked if they were little rocks. I assured him it was a different recipe. Gag. I hate it when I waste the time and the ingredients making something that we would all love and it turns out poorly.

Leave a Reply

