Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Best Way to Eat Ice Cream

on January 25, 2010

I know this sounds silly, but I got it from my mother-in-law, whom I love and think she’s the greatest. She’s a fantastic cook and just all around terrific lady. I’m very fortunate to have married into a good family.

Anyway, so here’s the deal. I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream right? But who’s really screaming after the ice cream is the zipper on my jeans! So, one day while my in-laws were visiting my mother-in-law shared her tip for eating ice cream without over-indulging. It’s very simple, you don’t even need pen and paper for this one: put it in a cone. There, you see, easy as, well, ice cream pie.

If you put it in a cone, waffle, cake, sugar, any one of them, it only holds a certain amount right? And you can use even less if you don’t put it down inside the cone first. I really hate getting an empty dry cone, it’s just such a let down. It’s so easy to go wild with it. I love it too and if I ate ice cream the way my husband does, I’d be as wide as I am tall in no time. His theory, if he can see any part of the bowl, there’s not enough. I scooped up bowls of ice cream for us one evening last summer and he looked at  me as if I had handed him an empty bowl! Mind you, I put three scoops in his bowl, but because it wasn’t towering over the sides, he didn’t think he had enough, so he marched himself into the kitchen to add more! Keep in mind, he’s 6’4″ and is on his feet all day, so it’s not like it’s going to his butt, like mine will.

Anyway, I read an article about ice cream and how your tongue works and how your brain works. when we eat ice cream with a spoon, how does it enter your mouth normally? If you’re like most people, spoon on bottom, ice cream on top, right? Where are your taste buds? On the bottom. You can eat less of it and still feel satisfied with the amount you’ve eaten if you put it in a cone and lick it, it’s all taste buds getting that wonderful sensation. Or, if you don’t like the cones, turn the spoon upside down when you put it in your mouth, so your tongue doesn’t get the cold metal, but rather the deliciocity of the ice cream.

After she made the suggestion, I bought cones the next time I was at the grocery. Of course, my kids love it better that way too, it’s funner. (Yes, in my house “funner’ is a word!) You know what? My mother-in-law is pure brilliance. I could eat one small scoop of ice cream on that cone and feel perfectly happy with my little treat and know that I wasn’t blowing my calories for the day completely out of the water.

Give it a try the next time you’re having ice cream, I promise you, it will work, especially if you’re trying to be good!

Leave a Reply

