Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The deadly (to my jeans) siren song

on January 15, 2010

You know, the holidays are hard on us. Everywhere we turn there are baked confections of every sort, flavor and color. Delicious dips, snacks and treats. It’s very hard to control one’s self, even just having one of a few things can completely blow anyone’s diet, or figure, out of the water.

Alas, having just returned from a wild and crazy road trip on which I indulged in probably way more than I should have, I ‘attempted’ to put on a favorite pair of jeans, only to find I could barely breathe and nearly had to lay down to get the zipper up. *GASP* At which point i went into that whole panic-stricken-throw-up-how-did-I-do-that? mode and determined to lose the offending 5 lbs in the next week by not eating anything, save for hot tea and apples.  Ok, well, maybe not quite that drastic, but I’m going to definitely do better, eat better and get back into my exercise routine. I have to.

My kids are out of school today. Why? The gods of school calendars decided today would be a good teacher work day, since it’s been a whole week since we came back from Christmas break and everyone is getting tired.   Today is also my son’s best friend’s birthday. He’s double digits today. He’s a good kid, I like him a lot and since we are out of school and it’s his birthday, I said, let’s have a sleepover. Well, not me, but the boys could have a sleepover. Just to be fun, and because my kids have been begging me, we went to Krispy Kreme this morning. Oh the sugar-coated, warm and fluffy goodness is just too much! We walked in and had to watch the donuts going thru the grease and then through the bath of frosting.  MMMMM

Then, when I couldn’t stand it any longer, we got our donuts. Hot and fresh. The best way to have Krispy Kremes. Oh, I was in heaven for that whole two seconds it took for me to devour one little ring of sweetly flavored empty calories. Before I knew it, I was only holding a piece of paper. How did that happen? It was gone and I don’t think I even chewed! Oh, I must have one more. I’d resigned myself to having only one. But it was gone so quickly, I couldn’t resist having another. Just one more. That’s it. I ate my second and there were still more in the box. Beckoning me. Seducing me with their luscious, warm, fluffy goodness. Like a siren calling the sailor to his death, they were calling me to the death of my single-digit jean sizes. I was strong. I resisted their lure and I am proud of myself. I survived and will make up the caving of my willpower to the second donut on my elliptical.

Oh, but only if they were not so delicious, it would be much easier to ignore the magnetic pull. This is the reason we keep driving past every time we see it. I will now break my arm patting myself on the back for this feat of willpower.

Leave a Reply

