Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Like parents, like children

on December 11, 2009

I have written about doing for others, especially this time of year.  Yesterday I showed my children what I was doing and brought them into the circle. I want them to understand that not everyone is as fortunate as we are. I took them to shop for toys for five children who are their ages, explaining to them that a lot of people aren’t working right now, or are not making enough to be able to pay bills and buy gifts.  I very firmly explained to them that we were not buying, or looking, for ourselves last night.  We were on a mission to find gifts for these children.  I asked if they wanted to know the names of the ‘angels’ they answered with a very excited ‘YES!’. I told them the names of the kids, I’d already told them how old they were. I told them about selling my old jewelry and their jaws dropped and I asked how many people they thought we could help with that money.  ‘Alot!’ was the answer, and yes, we will help as many as we can.

I must say, my children did very well.  They play right into the hands of the advertisers and loudly proclaim they want everything they see on tv. Last night we went to our local Big Lots and found some real bargains on toys. For instance, we found a multipack of Littlest Pet shop toys for only $10, and then shortly after we went to Wal-Mart and found the exact same thing for $20. I love it when that happens.  At BigLots, they did really well, the toy section is much smaller than Wal-Mart. When we got to Wal-Mart, it was much more difficult for my daughter, who is 6. I gently reminded her that we were not looking or buying for ourselves, but for the girls.

I am so proud of my children for doing what I asked them to do and really taking an interest in these kids.  My son, bless his little heart, wanted to give one of the boys his Gameboy. The angels can put on their tags one gift they would like.  He wanted a ‘handheld video game’.  Well, the only handheld video games around these days are in the $100 range and that was way above the budget I had for them. Besides, if I won’t buy one for my son, I really couldn’t justify it for another child. It was just so sweet for him to offer it and I made sure he understood how much that meant to me that he would give his Gameboy away, but that the toys needed to be new. What a kid!

I will take the gifts back to the tree today and tally up how much money I have left to decide how many toys I can buy for the Toys for Tots program. So…like Nike says, JUST DO IT! If you are reading this, you have a computer and internet access and you can do something for someone who needs it.  You can make a difference in the life of a child, or even children, by doing something as small as putting loose change in that red kettle, or buying an extra can of peas at the grocery.  Food banks are running low, especially right now.  The demand is so high, but the contributions are very low. I’ll be going to the grocery today and putting some things in the box there for our local food bank.

WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

Leave a Reply

