Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Something to strive for

on November 29, 2009

We went to mass today for the first time in about a month.  I don’t consider myself a ‘religious’ person, but more spiritual.  I don’t feel I have to follow someone’s ideas and guidelines to believe in a higher power.  Because, well, let’s face it, a lot of churches have some really wild teachings and philosophies.  Like the Southern Baptist church doesn’t allow dancing. Or drinking.  Or the Catholic church doesn’t believe in birth control.  That’s fine for some people, I’m not knocking it at all, just not for me.

Today, our priest, whom I like a lot, had a really great message: We should be quicker to forgive than condemn.  That we should not gossip and spread rumors and lies.  This is the holiday season and we’re all crazy busy, but we should still remember to be kind to each other.  To show some compassion to others.  Not walk past those red kettles without dropping something in every now and then.  Those coins alone may not do much for us, but they could do much for those in need.

This line of thinking kind of goes along with that Random Acts of Kindness post I wrote.  If we really work to be kind and polite to each other during the busy season of the year, life will be so much nicer for all of us.  Remember that it could be so much worse than it is.  If you have a roof over your head, food in the fridge, a job, healthy friends and family, what more can you really want?

I know it gets difficult, believe me, I have those days when any kind of manners in a parking lot have been tossed out the window.  Or we get testy when we’re looking for a specific gift and there may only be one left on the shelf.  this will be a more common occurrence this year as retailers have dramatically decreased their inventory so they don’t get caught holding the bag at the end.

Let’s all work toward a kinder, gentler life, not be so quick to judge or condemn, but to forgive.  Isn’t that what the season is all about?  Celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ, love, kindness, and family.  I will really try to remember that the person who is grumpy or rude to me, may have just lost their job or possibly dealing with a devastating situation that could mean life and death.  It happens all the time.

I know it won’t be easy, I’m one who has those knee-jerk growls when someone cuts me off, but I’m really going to strive toward being a kinder, gentler person this year.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

One response to “Something to strive for

  1. drmomx2 says:

    You know, I was just thinkinga about this post and the whole idea of being a bit softer, more compassionate. I mentioned running into someone who’s in a really bad situation. Think about it, if you had just been laid off, found out someone close to you was seriously ill or had just died, you would be in less than a good mood and likely to be a bit on the cranky side. If someone showed you a little kindness, it would make your life so much better, even in the smallest way. I’m really going to work toward that. To be the change I want to see in the world.

Leave a Reply

