Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Random acts of kindness

on November 27, 2009

I was really and truly surprised today.  Today is what’s known as “Black Friday’ for us here in the States, the day after Thanksgiving when there are sales out the wazoo and bargains to be had around every corner.  The stores open at insanely early hours and I don’t know if it’s just to see how many people will get up at the butt crack of dawn for a $3 toaster, or what.  If it was me making those decisions, they’d open at the crack of 7AM, a much more respectable hour.  But, since they don’t ask me, the hour of opening has become increasingly early.  Case in point: Toys R Us. This year, they opened at MIDNIGHT! yes, midnight as in 12AM.  Old Navy opened at 3AM, but they had the best giveaway ever, a free Lego Rock Band game w/a $20 purchase (the game retails for $49). And of course with mounting pressure for increased sales, Sears has joined the 4AM club this year, much to my chagrin.  Why do I care about Sears, you ask?  My dear, sweet, lovely husband is a store manager for Sears.  Which means he went to bed last evening at 6:30PM to get up at 2AM so he could be at his store at 2:30AM and open the doors at 4AM to the masses waiting outside his door for the early bird deals. 

What was it that surprised me?  Well, here it is.  We have a dog, love her though I do, she sheds so much that every time I run the vacuum, there is enough fur in the bucket to make another dog! Literally, she shakes and the fur flies.  Target had a Dyson Absolute Animal vacuum on for $200 off the regular price.  $200 is a lot of money, I don’t care who you are. Well, if you’re  Madonna or A-Rod, that’s just pocket change. But since I’m not either of them, nor do I know anyone remotely in that league, $200 is a fair amount to be saving.

At 4AM when my alarm went off, I hit the snooze and debated with myself should or shouldn’t I?  It’s cold out and so warm and snuggly here in  my bed.  Finally, my desire to have  pet-hair-free carpet won out.  I pulled myself out of bed dressed and ventured to my nearest Target in search of a vacuum that promises a great cleaning of my carpet. I had a list of a few things I was on a mission for, in addition to the vacuum.  When I pulled up in the parking lot at 4:45AM, the line crossed the front of the building.  I thought I was well dressed for the cold, but it was still damned cold.  The woman in front of me was asking people if anyone was there for a vacuum. I piped up and said ‘I am.’  This year, the difference is quantity.  Last year, the retailers ordered way more stock than they sold and ended up taking a loss on it when they had to sell at mark down prices. So this year, they have only ordered limited quantities.  Almost every ad I read, under the really great deals was a disclaimer “Limited quantities” or “while supplies last.’  I knew I had to get in, find the Dyson display immediately if I wanted this wonderful piece of machinery that was to make my life a little less hairy.

I pressed through the crush of people and made my way to the place I thought I’d seen the vacuums before.  This was a new store and I’d only been in it once before.  I found an employee who directed me to the vacuums.  To my surprise, there stood the woman who had been in front of me outside, waving to me. I did that whole, look around and be sure she was meaning me.  Yes, she did mean me.  She’d gotten to the display before I did and she had two off the shelf, leaving only one on the rack.

She said, “here! I got this for you!’

‘Really?  Thanks!  You’re the best!’

She looked at her daughter and said, ‘I told her we’re not leaving here until you get here.’

I was shocked.  In the climate where I thought we’d be fighting each other for something, she did something really nice. Would she have done it if there was only one, no way, that was hers.  Since there were a couple left, she helped me out.  As I was standing there looking at her in shock, a guy passed by with one.  So there were 4 for sure that I know about and that’s probably all they had.

 Would I have done the same thing?  I don’t know. I didn’t know her.  I’ll probably never see her again.  But I can promise you one thing, next time something like that happens, I’ll be a bit nicer and less cut-throat.  Or try to be more compassionate.  It is the season of giving after all.

Merry Christmas

3 responses to “Random acts of kindness

  1. valcitygal says:

    Ooooh that is SO NICE!!!!! Shocking, true, but what a nice thing to do. There really are nice people out there! What a relief! 🙂 Glad you got what you were looking for and for $200 off too – that’s awesome.

  2. […] 27, 2009 by valcitygal A fellow blogger posted a great story today about a random act of kindness someone did for her durnig the Black […]

  3. drmomx2 says:

    Yes, Val, it is sad that it is a rare occurence these days. I don’t know about parking lots in TO, but here, at the strike of Thanksgiving, all manners are immediately suspended in parking lots and it’s literally every man, woman, and child for themselves! I will try out my exciting new purchase tomorrow and let you know how it was. My friend next door has a yellow lab and she said it made her carpet like new!

Leave a Reply

