Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

YUM-O-RAMA!!!

on November 8, 2009

Well, I kind of expected it, I have to say.  I have  figured out how to make really good cookies and this new book I mentioned in a post a few days ago, “The Cookie Bible” is going to be my new fave I can tell already! Anything that expands my repertoire in the cookie department is a welcome inclusion in my kitchen!

It’s a lazy Sunday afternoon.  My boy is playing at a friend’s house, my husband has had to go to work, so I told my daughter to look in this book and pick out a couple to make. 

Unfortunately, time ran out before we got to make the second recipe, but the first!  Wow!  Lemon poppy seed cookies!  YUM-O-RAMA!!!  I love lemon poppy seed muffins and bread, so naturally I thought we’d like this recipe and was I ever right!  I think the one saving grace about this recipe, it makes a small batch of cookies!  They’ll be gone by tomorrow night so I won’t have to disperse them to  friends.  On the flip side of that, they would make a really nice gift in some cute paper or box.

What I don’t know that I’ll ever understand is how I came to enjoy and be good at baking.  There wasn’t much of it in my house growing up that didn’t come from a mix.  Mom wasn’t much of a cook at all, let alone to bake something that required more effort than dumping ingredients from a box into a bowl and blending in an egg and some water.  Me, I must have fallen from the sky, I think sometimes.  I really love scratch baking and from what my friends tell me, I”m pretty good at it. 

Now I have to ask a silly question that I have not been able to get an adequate answer to.  What does that really mean?  Scratch.  from scratch?  I know what it means to scratch an itch, but the baking, I don’t get.  I don’t have scratch on my list of ingredients.  Maybe it should really be baking from the start. Or fresh baking.  Or real baking.  I don’t know, you tell me.  And if you happen to know the answer to my quandary, please let me know!

If you love to bake and would like the recipe, email me and I’ll send it to you. I don’t know if I can post a copyrighted recipe.

Leave a Reply

