Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Does this make me look like a Cougar?

on October 31, 2009

Ok, I have a confession to make.  I have a crush on a much younger man.  I’m old enough,  I mean, he’s young enough to be my son.  Before you go getting all excited, I am very happily married and have no intention of doing anything to jeopardize what I have.  But as the saying goes,  I’m ‘wed not dead.’  I like to appreciate what God has graced us with.  I admire and appreciate movie stars and athletes just like the next person.  That doesn’ t necessarily mean I’m going to act on anything.  As if!

One of our colleges here has the cutest QB ever!  He’s just so adorable, big blue eyes, long eyelashes and curly dark brown hair.  If my husband reads this, he’ll know who I’m talking about!  He seems to have a really good head on his shoulders, he’s an amazing athlete, a very talented QB and seems to be very humble as well.  I’m sure his mother must be extremely proud, I would be!  but see, here comes my issue, and truly, more than anything, I hate being able to admit it.  I’m old enough to be his mother, like I said, he’s young enough to be my son.  Granted, I would’ve been a young mother, but still…

I guess I feel kind of like my brother did when he realized his dream of dating a cheerleader would put him in league with  lecherous old men who look like they’re trying to hold onto their youth.  I am trying to grow old gracefully.  Sometimes.  Others, I’m fighting like hell!  But still…The fact that I can say I’m 24 years out of high school, I have had friends for over twenty years or known someone for over thirty years is really kind of disturbing.  It’s disturbing in the way that life seems to be going on at a lightning speed and I just want it to slow down already!

So, does it make me a cougar that I can appreciate the looks and talent of someone young enough to be my son?  I don’t know, you tell me.

2 responses to “Does this make me look like a Cougar?

  1. liberalcynic says:

    hahaha…well if that was true…then the term cougar would have no meaning…the fact is, everyone has crushes! Anyway cougars are those women who act on their feelings for younger men!

  2. drmomx2 says:

    Thanks for that! I was seriously wondering about myself watching the Olympics, there are some really good looking athletes! Yeah, there will never be any acting on any of that, I guess it’s just fun to appreciate the gifts that some people have been blessed with.

Leave a Reply

