Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Why yes, I am a wine snob, how did you know?

on October 27, 2009

I never ever thought this would happen.  My husband and I were blissfully unaware of the power of good wine.  We would happily slurp our $4 bottle of midwest-version-$2 Chuck and think we were getting away with something. Wine for $4?  Sure, give me a case! Hmmph.  Not any more.

Last night, for the first time since our Napa trip, my husband brought home a bottle of wine.  In the past, we would drink a bottle of  ‘gimme more $4″ a couple of times a week, no problem.  Since we’ve been back, I’ve been fighting some kind of cold junk and didn’t want to compromise my immune system, especially in light of all the crap that’s floating around right now. Well, that and I just couldn’t see opening a $15 or $20 bottle a couple of times a week.  When I’m drinking a better bottle of wine, I want it to be more of an occasion, more than just sitting in a hot tub.  But, come to think of it, what better occasion? 

Anyway, my sweet husband stopped at the grocery on his way home from work last night and popped in to the liquor store next door and picked up a bottle of wine.  We both have been kind of curious as to what we would think when we went back to what we’d been drinking Pre-Napa.  He didn’t buy the ‘gimme more $4’, he bought a 1.5L bottle of Woodbridge. Before you say it, I know, it’s mediocre on a good day.  But we had driven past the winery multiple times and decided to try it.  Mondavi is one of those wineries that’s been around forever.

I’m relaxing in a hot bath full of bubbles enjoying a book and he brought me a glass.  I asked what he thought about it, ‘Kool Aid’. Hm.  Kind of what I was expecting, but I’ll see for myself.  Ugh.  He was right.  Super blended Kool Aid.  It’s amazing what a little education will do for a person’s palate.  I never thought of my palate as refined at all.  Having the opportunity to sample many wines from different wineries and to really learn to pick out the subtle aromas and flavors was really quite exciting.

So yes, we have become wine snobs.  No more of the  ‘Gimme more $4’, unless I”m cooking with it.  You know that’s one of my favorite lines, “I enjoy cooking with wine. Sometimes I even add it to the dish!”

Leave a Reply

