Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

If it SUCKS it’s Not My Fault!

on October 24, 2009

I have a standard disclaimer I use when trying a new recipe:  If it sucks, it’s not my fault, it’s a new recipe!  I have had to use that on more than one occasion.

I used to be the cook in a rut.  Monday: chicken and rice.  Tuesday: spaghetti.  Wednesday: pork chops.  Not exactly, but you get my meaning.  Then something amazing happened.  I became a Pampered Chef consultant and was forced out of my box.  Don’t get all wound up, I’m not trying to sell anything, I hung up my PC apron a couple of years ago.  But what happened was I learned to expand my horizons in the kitchen. 

I learned that things that look difficult or complicated are not always what they appear to be.  I cooked things before doing a show because I didn’t want to do a new recipe ‘cold’ and have it turn out looking really awful.  That’s not the best way to sell kitchen gadgets, when the rep can’t even use them.  My husband really enjoyed being my guinea pig and my neighbors loved it!  I’d ring the doorbell and be standing there with a plate full of something with a smile on my face and they were oh-so-happy to see me!

I have tried some recipes from cooking magazines or cookbooks that looked good on paper, but in reality were not that great.  Others have been a bit more involved, but absolutely amazing.

Incredibly, I have found that when reading a recipe, I can now realize when it has too much spice for us, or not enough.  And I’ve learned that simply because a recipe calls for something that I know we won’t like, doesn’t mean I have to include it.  Cayenne pepper is great for some people, but my children and myself don’t really care for the super spicy foods, and these things are just fine without the added heat.

I have what I call ‘Happy Accidents’ in my kitchen.  I have ended up with some amazing recipes because of my haste.  I read a recipe once, decide that it looks good and I want to try it, make my list and begin preparing the food.  silly me, I may not have read the recipe all the way through the second time, when I’m actually cooking and after passing the point of  no return, look at it and  go “OH CRAP!’ I really messed up and have to wing it from there.  I have come up with an Italian stew recipe, a cookie recipe I call ‘Pecan Pie cookies’, a pasta recipe Beef Penne Florentine.  All of which came from my mistakes, but turned out well.

Don’t get me wrong, they don’t always turn out so well.  I have had some that were absolutely repulsive.  I tried a sweet and sour chicken recipe in the crock pot that was so bad, my husband wouldn’t even eat it, and that’s BAD!  I forced it down because I wanted my kids to eat dinner, but I think they ended up with peanut butter and jelly that night!

So, the next time you try a new recipe, feel free to use my standard disclaimer:  If it sucks, it’s not my fault, it’s a new recipe!

Oh, I’m trying a new recipe right now, a crock pot beef stew recipe I found in one my favorite cooking magazines.  It called for cream of mushroom soup, condensed tomato soup and an envelope of dry onion soup mix.  Of course, that wasn’t enough for me, I added a can of beef broth, salt and pepper, and about 5 whole cloves of garlic!  I’ll let you know how it turns out!

3 responses to “If it SUCKS it’s Not My Fault!

  1. drmomx2 says:

    I am happy to report, my newest recipe attempt turned out perfectly wonderful and was well received by all and did not require the ‘Standard Disclaimer’!

  2. Michelle says:

    I think I’ve tried that same sweet and sour chicken recipe with similar results. Robbie was running late for the night shift and ate it quickly before running out the door. Then I was eating a little later and about got sick! Yuck! When I asked him why he ate that gross meal he said he didn’t want to hurt my feelings. How sweet!

    • drmomx2 says:

      That is so sweet! That recipe was tossed out of my kitchen! I may try another sweet and sour recipe sometime, but it will have to be a while, gotta let that memory fade!

Leave a Reply

