Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Always Tell Them You Love Them…

on October 23, 2009

I just read the most tragic story about a little girl in Florida who was abducted and murdered on her way home from school.  It makes my heart hurt.  Those poor siblings who were walking home with her must feel a terrible kind of guilt, even though they bear none.  How sad is it, how frightening is it that children can’t safely walk home from school without fear of ending up dead?

All I can say is I firmly believe there is a special place in Hell reserved for the heinous, sick individuals who would do something such as this.  It is just such a monstrous crime it’s unfathomable to me.  People like this don’t deserve a second chance, they should not be sentenced to life in prison, they should be put in the general population and let the other prisoners do to them what they did to these precious children.  Angry? Yes.  But not nearly as angry as that mother in Florida. My heart goes out to her and their family.  Senseless.  Heinous.  Repugnant. Unthinkable.

Sex offenders who are released from prison should have a sign posted in their front yards that is visible to everyone, notifying all around them of their past and what they’re capable of. 

I tell my children every time they leave the house that I love them.  I talk to them often about  ‘stranger danger’.  The hard part is that a ‘stranger’ doesn’t look out of the ordinary.  The ‘strangers’ look just like everyone else. They don’t have a name tag that says ‘stranger’, they aren’t necessarily scary looking.  We have to continually tell our children what to do and not do in regard to strangers.  And be sure to tell them that these people don’t look different than anyone else.  If a grown-up is asking for help looking for a puppy, tells them that their mom said it’s ok, offers them money/candy/ice cream to help look for someone/something, threatens them, anything, any scenario that could possibly come up, to NEVER EVER GET IN THE CAR, OR GO ANYWHERE WITH A STRANGER.  NEVER EVER. 

I try my best to impress that upon my children and from what I read, so did she.  I am so sorry that she feels like a failure, but I commend her spirit for telling that animal they’re going to find him.  I almost wish Somer’s dad found that beast first, then the police wouldn’t have much of a job to do but sweep him up and dump him in the trash like he did to that sweet, precious girl.

ALWAYS TELL THEM YOU LOVE THEM, children or spouse.  You never know when it could be the last time.  Every morning my husband kisses me and tells me he loves me before leaving for work.  One Monday morning I got a phone call at 7AM.  He’d been in a serious car wreck.  If not for the seat belt and airbags, it could have been much worse. As it was, it was pretty bad and he was out of commission for a while.  You just never know. 

Tell those you love how you feel, every chance you get.  Hug them and hold them tightly before you send them out the door.  I will hug mine a little more tightly now.

One response to “Always Tell Them You Love Them…

  1. drmomx2 says:

    I love YOU!!

    Robert
    LOYL

Leave a Reply

