Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

You Call Yourself a Mother?

on October 9, 2009

Ok, I’m sorry, I just have to vent for a moment.  I just got home from a quick errand that involved a stop at a local discount retailer.  I was looking at children’s shoes when I saw a young family.  Dad, Mom, a baby in a seat and a little boy who looked to be in the 18-month to two years range.  He was cute and quiet.  I didn’t hear a single noise from this child. 

I heard the dad tell the mom the little boy had taken off one of his shoes.  It was a croc-type and it was right beside him.  Big deal.  My daughter used to shuck her shoes at every opportunity, even when it was not the most opportune time. 

She bent down to pick up the shoe and she said it. ‘You’re a sneaky little shit.”  Yes, I bolded this word because I was mortified.  I can’t remember if I gave her a look or not, but then the dad piped up and said, ‘Yes, you’re a sneaky little man.’

Ok, this is where I get cranky.  She was a young mother, early 20’s.  But come on!  How can you speak to a child that way!  A very young child.  What is she going to do when that little boy gets sent home from school for calling a classmate a little shit?

You know, I am no stranger to cursing.  In my former life, I considered it sport to see how many curse words I could fit into a sentence and it still make sense.  Then I became a mother and realized my child is a reflection of me.  I never knew I could become some uptight, prudish mother, but for the longest time, in our house we didn’t say ‘butt’ we said bottom, or booty.  It just sounded to rough to me coming out of the mouths of my babes.  I understand we all have to do what we feel is best for ourselves and our children.  So you say “butt” in your house, ok.  That’s your deal.  Do you call your child a four-letter-word?  That’s where I draw the line.  That is absolutely unacceptable and inappropriate kind of language to be used around a small child who truly does not know better.

I know, I know. I’ve been thinking about this since I first drafted this post.  I really should have said something to that girl, she who is old enough to know better, and obviously young enough not to care.  Next time I see someone speaking that way to a child, I will speak up.  It’s just reprehensible to treat someone that way, let alone a very young child.

I remember one time I said ‘shit’ in front of my son and instantly regretted it, but it simply slipped out.  I was on the phone with a friend who was telling me about a disaster that had claimed man lives.  It was one of those tragic, freak kind of accidents and I said it while my son, 2 at the time, was near enough to hear me.  What did he do?  He pipes up and says, ‘Oh shit!’  Now I”m really thinking ‘OH SHIT!’ What have I done? I’ve just corrupted my beautiful little child.

Please please please people, speak to your children with love and respect, not curse words and condescension.

Leave a Reply

