Confessions of an Unintentional Domestic Goddess

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Domestic Goddess is Born

on October 7, 2009

Twelve years ago, while I studying to be a chiropractor and preparing to marry the man of my dreams,  I had absolutely no intention of being a stay-at-home mom.  Are you kidding me?  If you had any idea the amount of work and truly blood, sweat, and tears that went into getting my degree, not to mention student loans,  you would agree.  Why do all that to just stay home?Wouldn’t it have been easier, and cheaper, to just get married and start cranking out kids? 

Well, the easy answer to that is yes.  However, most of us know we really don’t know what’s in store for us in our futures.   Now, nearly 12 years and two children later, here I am, a stay-at-home mom.  What I really prefer to call myself is a Domestic Goddess.  Even if my house is less than perfect most of the time.

It’s funny how our priorities and desires change as time goes by.  When I was walking that stage wearing my funny hat and robe, if you had come to me and said,  ‘Hey!  Guess what!  In ten years, you’ll be staying home taking care of your children!’  I would have given you a look and walked away.  I was going to heal the world.  That was my plan.  Well,  HA HA!  The universe had other plans for me.

One day a thought casually danced through my sleep-deprived brain when  my daughter was nearly 2 months old.  Soon, it was more than casual, it was hammering away. I was fearful, but I took a leap and told my husband about this thought that refused to leave me alone and he was very enthusiastic about it.  I expected some debate, as we normally do when making a major decision.  Not this time.  I decided work could wait and that my children needed me more than the patients did.  They can always find another doc, but this is my one chance with my children when they are young.

It was difficult at first, to go from being a professional healthcare provider to a professional diaper changer/burper/cleaner.    But I made the transition finally.  It took probably a solid six months for me to really adapt to it.  I felt isolated and cut off from adult conversation.  As time went on, I got better at it.

Looking back now, I’m so glad I did it.  I took the plunge and I wouldn’t change a thing.  I’m here to tell you, if you are considering making this change in your life, it can be tough, but you will make it. Especially if you have a supportive partner.

I started this blog to share my experiences, tips and tricks.  And also some recipes.  I have a lot of them now, and many of them are what I call ‘Happy Accidents’.  They started out as something else, and my inability to properly read the recipe has led to some really great creations that I never thought I could do!

Let’s have some fun.  It’s not all about house-work and drudgery.  I want to enjoy my life and my time here.  I want to matter to my children and others, whether it’s by being a good friend, sharing recipes, or being a voice of experience.  If you like what you read, let me know.  If there’s something you’d like to see, tell me that too.

We’ll see you on the flip side!

One response to “A Domestic Goddess is Born

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

